All comments can be used


MM foto: Marie-ll

Pol Eggermont
zegt dat ik specifieker moet worden. Je wilt een stevige input van het team, maar om dat te krijgen moet je eerst meer richting aangeven.

Pol doet de dramaturgie en hij heeft gelijk. Ik vind op dit moment alles interessant en boeiend. Dat werkt niet. De komende tijd ga ik daarom de tien scènes uitwerken, of juist inbinden, invullen, verdichten.
Omdat Media Me een internetproject is en geen radioproject (zoals gewend) moet ik ook denken aan dingen als beeld en interactiviteit. Wat ligt open en wat is bepaald? En in hoeverre gaat de term You’re in my story op voor het werken aan dit project?

Op dit moment ziet het plan er zo uit:

De website wordt gevuld met muziek, tekst en beelden, per thema/scène.
We werken aan een ontwerp voor een, ik noem het Media Me TV Mixer, waarop bezoekers met beeld, muziek en tekst scènes kunnen samenstellen en manipuleren. (Random effecten zijn hierbij niet uitgesloten.)
Iedereen kan nav dit aangeboden basis materiaal bijdrages leveren aan de scènes, door het uploaden van eigen materiaal. (Tekst, beeld, geluid.)
Na drie (?) maanden wordt uit het gemaakte en verzamelde materiaal tien scènes gemonteerd die uitgezonden kan worden op internet, radio, tv en mobiel.
(De hoeveelheid foto’s in de Media Me groep blijft ondertussen groeien.)

Taal.
Op de site van Jaqueline Fackeldey (Dank, Jenny) zie ik een mooie lijst met nieuwe taal.

Welke uitdrukkingen en uitspraken brengt de digitale tijd voort?
Er moeten meer zijn, maar welke?

“Je stond uit.”
“Nee, m’n geheugen zat vol.”

NB: All comments can be used in Media Me.


9 Responses to “All comments can be used”

  1. gurdonark Says:

    I think this is a crossroads which old media always faces in confronting the new media. I frame the question this way:

    “is Mediame a participant, or a reporter?”.

    If Mediame is a participant, then interactive participation and exchange is the order of the day.

    If Mediame is a reporter,then half-hearted gestures and editorials about the result will be the consequence, as is so often the case when old media “discovers” the internet and digital culture.

    “We need more, but what?”

    The what is more “we”. Not so much a “collective”, as that word is over-used, as a sense of structures for participation by others.

    My own digital heaven is all about sharing culture.

    My own digital hell is one more trite editorial about those crazy media citizen “kids” and their naive media.

  2. bert kommerij Says:

    @ Robert,
    I think it’s both. Reporter and participant, and more. It’s not one or the other.
    Media Me will be a drama produktion, with a narrator and charachters. And a choir.
    In the end, we want to produce a serie of tv programme’s in wich the participants voice and contribution are miixed in the final produkt.
    So in Media Me new media meets old media on different levels.

    At this moment I’m thinking of basic storie-lines, in a more open way then I’m used to. For reactions of visitors will be part of the story.
    (Fake and real.)

    I gues I’m trying to tell a storie in wich all different forms of communication come together.

  3. gurdonark Says:

    I agree that it need not be “reporter” or participant, but can be both, or even a new thing which is neither.

    I wonder if the narrative forms of the new media somehow fit into the change in thinking. Rather than the 3 minute song, the half hour of TV, or the 100 minute film, there are so many different spaces and ways to perceive and experience media. Fiction ,fact, hybrids, graphics, a flickr photo.

    All very interesting. Fun to see what you do with it.

  4. bert kommerij Says:

    Fun, but hard work too, to make everything fit in the right position. At this moment it’s a puzzle.
    There’s an ethical thing in it too. Working like this.
    I mean, what’s the difference between copying/stealing and sharing?
    Like I’m faving remarkable sentences on twitter right now, which I might use in the scripts, which inpsires me.
    But also comments I read on blogs or in newspapaers, or sentences I hear on the street.
    I collect them “for artistic use.”
    So what is open and what is closed?

  5. gurdonark Says:

    The problem of sharing versus appropriation is one I think about a lot.
    This is why spaces like ccmixter, the creative commons licenses on flickr, and CC-licensed weblogs and netlabels matter so much to me.

    Yet I am always left with the longing for more open-ness. When I wish to quote a poem or essay, then I go to the public domain works at gutenberg.org, as US public domain works pre-1923 (a key date here for technical reasons) exist.

    Yet so many poems–and no doubt, so many poets and essayists–exist which are both more “modern” and as to which the authors would probably be pleased to get the exposure rather than offended to be used without compensation. But the hassle of tracking down permissions is a barrier.
    Thus, I perceive that no matter how much progress we have all made in more liberal licensing, the further developments of pools of liberally-licensed materials is a clear way forward for media sharing.

    The open source twitter alternative identi.ca requires CC licensing for posts, to alleviate the problem of permissions.

    I believe in fair use in simple writings and critical works, but I do not use material I do not own in songs or videos without a licensing path. It’s not only the legalities–though those are potent enough. It’s also based in respect for the artist, and a feeling the new media should remix rather than merely be pirate bay.

    But every chance comment on the street, as you note, is a choice morsel–a novel or poem in waiting. When everything is media, how does one negotiate the licenses :)?

  6. bert kommerij Says:

    I agree on the CC story.
    It’s crazy those devellopments go so slow.
    For me it’s a complete logic way of working on the internet.
    Use and being used in an honest way.
    But yet, the market is powerfull and mighty and people not aware.
    We couldn’t have realised Flick Radio without CC.

    The differnce between plagiarism, copying and sharing, I don’t know.
    But I think that aslong as you mention were your research comes from, as speciffic as possible, everything can be done. And under good CC conditions. I mean the NY-SA etc.

    At this moment, working on media me, I get a little blocked sometimes.
    (Confessiontime!)
    Not about copying, but about the “open-isue.”
    There’s not much logic in the way things are created, I know, but to write logs about the hidious struggle during the proces to get grip on the whole thing, well…
    At the same time I feel guilty that I do not practice what I preached during Flick Radio.
    Each proces is different I guess.

  7. bert kommerij Says:

    I’d love your take on it.

    (from a keynote somewere somewere somehow.)

  8. gurdonark Says:

    Slight change of topic:
    A recent compilation episode of the CBC radio show “Spark”
    had two pieces which fit well with your thoughts on “digital afterlife”:
    The mp3 is here:
    http://www.cbc.ca/spark/blog/2008/10/episode_50.html

    I got my mailing from you! Thanks! Needless to say, I plugged it into the DVD player, to find that both our cheap DVD players require replacement :). Digital heavens, indeed.

    Lately, I think about releasing more material CC BY. No SA,
    No NC, no anything.

    I do not see this as something I insist that everyone “should do” or “must do”. I just like the way that I can make things available to others for the simple price of attribution. I am not sure I wish to hold this forth as an “economic model”–I am fine with creators selling their works for money.

    It’s just that it’s nice to put a picture on flickr BY, and see it used in websites and other places. When I smile at such a use, perhaps this is a kind of payment, too.

  9. mediame Says:

    That’s a good statement. That last one!
    Listening to the mp3 now.
    Wow.

Leave a Reply

